STATE OF TEXAS ALLIANCE FOR RECYCLING

ADVANCING RECYCLING IN TEXAS


OUR MISSION

is to advance recycling through partnerships, education, and advocacy for the benefit of Texas. 


WHAT WE DO

With the backing of multiple recycling corporations and businesses, STAR serves as the voice of the Texas recycling industry, as well as a partner with local governments and municipalities helping to reduce contamination, collaborate with staff for effective outreach, and developing local recycling markets. 

We work to educate Texans about the economic and environmental benefits of recycling in Texas and help professionals grow through networking, webinars, and our support for TRUE Advisor certification.

STAR advocates for the recycling industry by hosting stakeholder workshops, regional meetings, and through legislative measures. 

STAR EVENTS

 Check out our events and the latest social media posts!

Upcoming events

No events available

Past events

Mon, October 05, 2020 2020 Texas Recycling & Composting Summit
Sun, October 04, 2020 STAR 2020 Recycling and Composting Summit Auction
Tue, September 29, 2020 STAR Reuse Council General Meeting
Tue, September 15, 2020 STAR Reuse Council Webinar: The State of Fashion Reuse in 2020
Thu, September 03, 2020 STAR Business Council General Meeting
Mon, August 31, 2020 2020 Future Leader Scholarship — Applications Now Open!
Mon, August 17, 2020 3rd Annual Texas Reuse Contest
Thu, August 13, 2020 2020 North Texas Environmental Leadership Awards
Wed, August 12, 2020 STAR Central Texas Council "Recycling Processors" Webinar
Thu, August 06, 2020 STAR Business Council General Meeting
Tue, August 04, 2020 STAR Reuse Council General Meeting
Thu, July 16, 2020 STAR North Texas Webinar: The Impacts of COVID-19 on North Texas Recycling Programs
Wed, July 15, 2020 South Central Texas Glass Recycling Workshop
Thu, July 02, 2020 STAR Business Council General Meeting
Thu, June 18, 2020 STAR Central Texas Council member virtual meeting
Tue, June 16, 2020 3rd Annual Texas Reuse Tour—VIRTUAL
Wed, June 10, 2020 A Final Toast: A Tribute to Kim Mote
Thu, June 04, 2020 STAR Business Council General Meeting
Tue, June 02, 2020 STAR Reuse Council General Meeting
Mon, June 01, 2020 Texas Recycling Market Development Plan Survey—Closing Soon!
Fri, May 29, 2020 2020 Texas Environmental Leadership Awards
Thu, May 21, 2020 Webinar: Food Waste Reduction
Fri, May 08, 2020 STAR North Texas 2020 Environmental Leadership Awards | Call for Nominations
Thu, May 07, 2020 STAR Business Council General Meeting
Tue, April 28, 2020 Webinar: "Current and Long Term Impacts of the Public Health Crisis in the Recycling System" with STAR ED Jordan Fengel
Wed, April 22, 2020 EarthX2020 - Virtual
Thu, April 16, 2020 Webinar: "Recycling Industry and the Supply Chain During a Pandemic"
Wed, April 08, 2020 SWANA Webinar: "Financial Impact of Covid-19 on the Solid Waste Industry"
Tue, April 07, 2020 STAR Reuse Council General Meeting
Thu, April 02, 2020 STAR Business Council General Meeting
Tue, March 31, 2020 Webinar: Best Management Practices for Community Composting
Tue, March 31, 2020 STAR Webinar: Rethinking and Repackaging the Three 3 R's—Creating a Culture of Composters and Recyclers at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center in 2020
Tue, March 31, 2020 SPC Impact 2020 - CANCELED
Tue, March 24, 2020 Webinar: Recycling Industry Secrets: Critical Factors That Impact Bin Selection
Thu, March 19, 2020 Webinar: Rethinking Recycling with David Allaway, Senior Policy Analyst of the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Thu, February 27, 2020 STAR Webinar - Reuse in the Entertainment Industry
Fri, February 14, 2020 STAR North Texas Steering Committee Conference Call
Tue, February 11, 2020 STAR Reuse Council General Meeting
Tue, February 11, 2020 Recycling and Beyond: Core Concepts Online Training
Thu, February 06, 2020 STAR Councils & Action Groups Webinar
Tue, February 04, 2020 STAR Membership Webinar
Mon, January 20, 2020 Great American Cleanup Supply Requests Now Open
Mon, January 06, 2020 STAR 2020 Bin Grant Program
Fri, December 13, 2019 STAR North Texas Holiday Luncheon
Wed, December 11, 2019 Register now for the FREE Webinar: Demystifying AI and Robotics for Recycling
Tue, December 10, 2019 STAEP Holiday and Membership Drive Network Event / Dec 10, 2019
Wed, November 13, 2019 Texas Glass Recycling Workshop
Fri, November 01, 2019 CAPCOG - TCEQ Regional Solid Waste Grants Program RFA Now Open
Mon, October 14, 2019 2019 Texas Compost Summit
Tue, October 08, 2019 Texas Environmental Leadership Awards
Mon, October 07, 2019 2019 Texas Recycling Summit

PAST TEXAS RECYCLING SUMMITS


PAST TEXAS COMPOST SUMMITS


NEWS

Check out STAR and other industry updates!

RECYCLING MARKET DEVELOPMENT PLAN


RESOURCES

Whether you work for a city, school, or business, STAR has partnerships with leading organizations that can provide you with resources and tools to make your recycling program succeed. 

Check out our Council and Action Groups, become a member of STAR, and dig into past our webinars, projects, and presentations below.


CITIES & GOVERNMENTS


SCHOOLS & UNIVERSITIES


Learn More

With the growth of Texas cities there is a need to address the reduction, reuse, and recycling of resources used by citizens. 

STAR has great partners who have programs that can help your recycling program excel!


City Resources


BUSINESSES & CORPORATIONS


STAR COUNCILS & ACTION GROUPS


BECOME A MEMBER OF STAR 


WEBINARS AND PROJECTS

STAR MISSION PARTNERS

• Visit our Mission Partners' websites

• Learn how to become a Mission Partner

AFFILIATIONS

STAR is proud to be a part of these great organizations

  
  
  

2020-2021 Board Members


Jason McCombs

Chair

City of Austin Resource Recovery

Jason Keller


Vice-chair

United Electronic Recycling


Amy Kirwin

Secretary

City of San Marcos


Joan Meeks

Treasurer

Commodity Recycling Solutions

Paul Kuhar

Champion Waste & Recycling

Robert Trevino Jr.

City of McAllen


Wendy Chance

Quest Resource Management


Heather Douglas

Waste Management



Andrea Rodriguez

FCC Environmental



Jeremy Starritt

City of Frisco



Ken May

CAPCOG


Follow STAR on social media

STAR is a 501c3 non-profit organization

Mailing Address

PO Box 142274

Austin, TX 78714

Call or Email Us
Office: 512.828.6409

Email: info@recyclingstar.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software